6 / 20
For the purposes of Item 9 (Wake turbulence category) of the ATC flight plan, an aircraft with a maximum certificated take-off mass of 62000 kg is:
  • A
    medium “M”
  • B
    heavy ”H”
  • C
    unclassified “U”
  • D
    light “L”
ICAO Doc 4444
Air Traffic Management (PANS-ATM)
4.9.1 Wake turbulence categories of aircraft Wake turbulence separation minima shall be based on a grouping of aircraft types into three categories according to the maximum certificated take-off mass as follows:
a) HEAVY (H) — all aircraft types of 136 000 kg or more;
b) MEDIUM (M) — aircraft types less than 136 000 kg but more than 7 000 kg; and
c) LIGHT (L) — aircraft types of 7 000 kg or less.

Your Notes (not visible to others)

This question has appeared on the real examination, you can find the related countries below.